How will a bad junior year affect me?

Throughout my high school career, I have tried to take advanced classes:

• In my freshman year, i took AP Calculus AB/BC and got As in both classes. I ended the year in a 3.8 UW due to lack of preparation in my honors English and civics classes.
  • In my sophomore year, I took AP World, AP Bio, Multivar, and linear algebra and got As in all these classes. I ended this year very well with a 3.9 UW.
  • In my junior year, I moved to a different school. It was a completely different environment and I felt completely out of place. I took 5 APs this year: AP Comp Sci (A), AP Physics (A-), AP Statistics (B), AP US History (C+), and AP Lang (B). I felt very out of place in APUSH; it was definitely the hardest class I’ve taken and I felt very demotivated after failing each test. The more I studied for APUSH and Lang, I had less time for others. Even my regular classes (Spanish and Sociology) fell and I got Bs in them. I ended the year in a 3.1 UW - I definitely took too many APs.

My overall GPA is a high 3.5 UW (4.1 W). I feel like my chances for getting into highly selective colleges has now severely been limited. I have taken the SAT and got a 1530.

I put a lot of time apart from school into other things as well: I am the president of two different clubs and do a lot of volunteer work.

Do you guys think that colleges will factor in my junior year grades heavily if I am able to explain why I wasn’t able to perform academically on par and have done good on other parts of my application? Will good AP test scores help me prove that I do know the subjects well?

Looking forward to your response :))

Start looking at the many, many colleges where you WOULD be a successful applicant. Sure, apply to a highly selective school if you so choose
but have a number of realistically attainable colleges on your application list.

There are plenty of very very successful people out there who didn’t attend a “highly selective” college.

10 Likes