Howard University 6 Year BSMD Graduate. AMA!

Hi there! I am a graduate of howards 6 year BSMD program. Ask me anything!
Overall impression: Positive and would do it again

5 Likes

What was your interview experience like? What do you believe differentiated you from other applicants?

Congratulations!!!

This is also just the thread I needed! I’m an applicant to the program. Undergrad decisions come out later today (I assume. They said it’d be out this morning but I’ve heard nothing from them) and BS/MD interview notifications should be coming in March.

I want to ask about how medical college ranking may impact residency placement. I admire Howard but have come to know that it’s not a highly ranked institution. Have you or your peers ever thought of this being a disadvantage?

How was it like working at Howard University Hospital as a med student?

Howard doesn’t have an anesthesia or emergency medicine residency program but I’ve noticed that many graduates have managed to match into such programs at other institutions nonetheless. Where would Howard med students interested those fields obtain greater exposure if not at Howard?

1 Like

Have you or your peers ever thought of this being a disadvantage?

• It can impact you negatively in terms of less research opportunities. Howard has a pretty big name so you can definitely find ways to make connections. However if you want to do a competitive specialty you will have to be very self motivated and creative when finding ways to do research and start a lot of projects on your own. Other than that, the only thing that will hold you back are your grades and board scores. If you shine in those literally no one will care where you came from.

How was it like working at Howard University Hospital as a med student?