I am a student who has not taken any AP classes [but will complete about 40 credits of college courses while in high school] do I have a chance of getting into UC Berkeley?

I am a senior this year and so far I have gotten into UC Merced and UC Davis and I have been rejected from UCLA and UC Irvine. I applied under Biology B.S. for my major at every school, I have a 4.5 weighted gpa and a 4.06 unweighted gpa. I am a California resident and I am within the top 9% of my senior class. The only thing I am concerned about is that I have only taken one AP class throughout all 4 years of high school. I passed it with an A however I did not take the test. My school offers 5 AP courses, has no honors or IB classes but it does offer dual enrollment classes with a local community college and I have taken 13 of them(including my senior year). Because of that I have around 40 college credits but once again no AP classes. Because Berkeley considers in state applicants first, do you think there is a possible chance that I could get in? My extra curricular include student government for two years, academic mentorship for freshman at my school for 2 years, culture club, travel club, and dance club.

If your school does not offer honors, IB, or AP classes, UCB should take that into account when reading your application. They evaluate each applicant in the context of what is offered at their high school. Best of luck to you!

Edit: I see you edited your post to add the info that your school offers 5 APs. I can’t tell you whether that will be an issue or not, but I agree with @parentologist that you will know very soon, and that Merced and Davis are also great options.

I think that the fact that your school offers 5 AP classes, but you chose to take only one of them, would go against you for UCB, but you never know. You’ll have your answer very soon. It seems that it did go against you for UCLA and Irvine. Meanwhile, Merced and Davis are great options for you.

1 Like