I have some questions about applying to colleges

I have some questions about applying to colleges. I am currently a freshman and have a 1480 on the SAT and a 32 on the ACT. I take AP classes and have a 4.0 GPA. I am also part of many extracurriculars, including tutoring, martial arts, academic competitions, and nonprofit fundraising. What are the chances that I get into Brown, UPenn, UNLV, UMKC, and Penn State?

I heard that Ivy League colleges want to hear unique stories from their applicants. I want to be able to do something that stands out in my resume and applications. Any suggestions?

Thank you for your time!

You’re a freshman. It’s great you’re thinking about these things now, but also realize that a lot can change in the next three years of high school. My best advice is to find your passion. You have a lot of great activities already, which do you love the most? Figure that out and pursue it as far as you can - whether through internships, leadership positions, research, etc. Now is the perfect time to do this.

2 Likes

Thank you!

Are you a high school freshman? If so, is your 1480 SAT score actual, or what you are hoping to achieve?

You might want to read the “applying sideways” blog on the MIT admissions website. Its basic message, as I understand it, is to do what is right for you, and do it very well. Several people I know have used this approach with significant success. However, what I did is very different from what my wife or my children have done. We each just did what was right for us.

4 Likes

My SAT score is actual.
Also, thank you for the resources!

One daughter was invited to take the SAT as a freshman in high school. She did well, but definitely way below 1480. She is currently studying for a DVM at a university with a very good program.