I one C+ and B on my final grade in freshman year, everything else is A’s. Would I still be able to get into colleges like UVA?

In freshman year, I got a C+ final grade in regular Spanish 2. Which is BAD. I’m a Virginian resident so I had some hope that I could get into UVA. But that C+ threw me off. Even if I do perfect in everything else after freshman year, would I still be enough? I feel as though this one C+ ruined my future.

1 Like

No one grade has ruined your future. And going to a UVA level school does not ensure a good future nor does going to a Radford or no college ensure failure, etc.

College admittance at many schools is about far more than grades. But even where it’s solely about grades, a C in 9th grade is not doom.

Be the best you - school and otherwise.

If you are taking Spanish again, your bigger concern should be working with your teacher to correct your shortfalls so that it doesn’t roll over into fall…as classes like Spanish build upon one another.

Control the comtrollables. Don’t focus on a specific college. You are a 9th grader.

There will be many a college for you, UVA or otherwise.

3 Likes

You are fortunate to live in Virginia where there are a good number of great public universities in addition to UVA. Start looking at some of the others as well.

UVA can still be on your list, but check out the others too.

4 Likes

It is way too early to think about specific colleges. You just have one full year’s GPA and you have no standardized testing. You also need to recognize that HS should be an experience in and of itself – a time of learning and growth and not just a 4 year college application prep experience.

It is good to take school seriously and know that college will be on your horizon, but it is too early to start planning for specific colleges. I would highly recommend that you get off of CC (other than the HS page) until your junior year.