I regret my major choice, now what?

As the title says, I’m graduating with a B.A. in English Literature from a T50 flagship and deeply regret my choice. As a transfer student, I put my focus freshman/sophomore year into resume building, treating f/s essentially as remedial college prep. Now: I’m a senior, excellent GPA, no debt, feel terrible and am open to further schooling.

My interests have primarily been in creative fields related to design and media, though I’m also interested in financial growth potential and a leadership/strategy role. I want to be able to work with ideas, facts, and/or aesthetics. I enjoy the outdoors, photography/film, collaging, architecture, interiors, oceans, computers (though I don’t know how to program) and economics (though I never took calculus).

TLDR; Regretful English Major, INTP, career tests suggest executive, lawyer, or artist (lol) Absolutely no interest in education/social work/teaching. Any advice or suggestions I might not have thought of?

1 Like

English majors make good lawyers and executives. English majors generally develop excellent reading, writing, research and analytical skills. Add those to your creative interests and talents and I am not sure why you are pessimistic and regretful.

1 Like

Public policy and nonprofit work in an area that interests you. I work with an English BA grad right now - he is helping update our small organization’s website (having no prior skills in this), helping with other communication issues, and will be moving into more research and report writing eventually. He has fewer skills than I would have liked with Excel but is learning. There are free tutorials on Excel and other useful skills - look and see what the ads are asking for.

I wouldn’t recommend going right into grad school until you have a better idea of what is out there. You didn’t mention what work experiences you have had.