I want to transfer to musical theatre major, what should I do?

I am a transfer student who will study psychological science at the University of Connecticut in August. However, I really like musicals, and I am planning to transfer to musical theatre at another university. It’d better be in New York. I’ve only studied a little bel canto, and I attended theatre class in high school. For me, my goal seems really impossible. So I want to ask, how can I reach this goal? What should I study? Should I transfer in my sophomore year or graduate school?

@soozievt might be able to give you a little guidance.

Where in NYC do you hope to land? And do you have the money to pay the full cost of attendance?

Are you saying you will be a transfer when you enter Uconn this fall…and you want to transfer again sometime in the future to a musical theater program?

The important thing is to start getting as much musical theater experience as you can, in whatever form you can. For example you can take dance, singing and acting lessons. You can audition for any and every show at your college --whether official mainstage shows put on by their theater department, smaller student-run theater productions, even club theater or club talent shows if they have them. Then audition for any summer production at community theaters in your home town. If you don’t get cast at first, volunteer to be part of the backstage crew or front of the house crew and show up every day with a hardworking positive attitude.

Most musical theater BFA programs are by audition only and have very low acceptance rates, especially the ones in NYC. Programs that are general theater BA programs, and that are located “off the beaten path” geographically can still be high quality and are easier to get into.

ETA: double majoring (for example in your original major of psychology) if you can manage it, is never a bad idea. All but the luckiest and most talented actors will need to work a “day job” tomake ends meet.