IB and a lower GPA or AP and a perfect GPA?

I am currently a sophomore here in Alabama and have the option of taking IB or AP classes starting next year. AP classes will be no sweat for me I know, as I did take the one AP class available for me this year. AP classes can get you college credit and are more widely known by colleges it seems, and of course they are much less work and have less requirements compared to IB. With IB you have to complete CAS, write a 5000 word essay, IB elective, an additional 2 years of foreign language, and the homework load is horrible according to upperclassmen. I know I could handle IB and have been recommended by all my teachers and counselor to take it, but I don’t want my GPA to plummet due to the transition of harder classes. There are many universities here in AL that will give free tuition for a 32 ACT and 3.5 GPA (unweighted), and I don’t want to take IB next year and see my 4.0 that I’ve kept drop ruining my chances for those scholarships.That said I’m not really trying to go to a big IVY league just a public universities that meet my needs. Most upperclassmen who too only wanted to go to public universities saw it as a waste of time. I do enjoy learning on a higher level and being among like minded people, but taking the easy way and taking all AP classes, increasing my rank (#4 at the moment), and not stressing myself seems like the better route. And with AP I’ll have more time for volunteering, extra curricular, etc. which looks good on applications. Again I know I could handle IB and give my life up to it, but is it worth it in the end? What are the benefits to IB as opposed to AP? Can you earn college credit with IB? I have heard IB allows you to skip your freshmen year of college completely. For anyone who has been in the IB program, was it worth it? And in my school we take 8 classes a semester!