IB Classes and AP Credit??

Hey everyone,

I am very confused and I need some help. I am currently a sophomore who will be starting the IB program next year and I intend to apply to some schools that do not accept IB credit. I’ve been thinking that I should probably take the AP tests for the corresponding classes.

The problem that I have encountered is that my school is strictly an IB school with about 5-10 AP classes only. I am certain that most of the IB classes that I will be taking are not offered as AP. Does this mean I cannot take the AP test?

Also, can I take the IB test and the AP test? Please let me know because I am confused. The following IB classes are the ones that I will likely be taking next year and the following year.

Junior Year:

-IB English Lit 1 HL
-IB History of the Americas 1 SL
-IB Theory of Knowledge 1
-IB Environmental Science 1 SL
-IB Physics 1 SL
-IB Spanish 1 SL
-IB Design Technology 1 HL

I know there are only 2 HL classes, but my school does not offer Physics HL in junior year. I take Physics HL senior year.

Senior Year (Projected):

-IB English Lit 2 HL
-IB Math Methods SL (possibly IB Pre-Calc HL if I do well next year)
-IB Economics SL
-IB TOK 2
-IB Chem or Bio SL (haven’t decided which yet)
-IB Physics 2 HL
-IB Spanish 2 SL
-IB Design Technology HL

Let me know which AP tests I can take after completion of the IB course.

AP Tests don’t have a “you must take the corresponding AP class” as a prerequisite. You can take any and all as a long as there is a location for you to take them at. Keep in mind they are structured differently from IB tests and may require some separate studying.

Thanks @ARoseAmongWeeds