IB vs AP

I know this is a very common topic but I couldn’t find another thread that really helps.

I am a Sophomore in High school at the moment and can take AP/IB classes starting next year but I’m unsure over which one I should take. I could handle either but I do know IB is much rigorous and rather not waste my time on it if AP gives me the same benefits or more. Can someone explain the pros and cons of both or tell me the differences, etc. I know I should probably ask my counselor about this stuff but our old one retired (she was great) and our new one isn’t very helpful/friendly. As far as college goes I want to go to Emory University and know pretty much what they want in upcoming students from a college tour I took. On the other hand it has already been decided by my parents that I will go wherever I receive a full scholarship from and that would be schools like UAB, UAH, UA, or smaller schools like Talladega. However I want to minor in Japanese and major in either Education, Mechanical engineering, software development, or Architecture (I am still very undecided on a major but that’s the sphere I’m looking at.) Here’s all I know about my schools IB/AP programs:

AP
Anyone can take them

Classes:
Physics
Chemistry
Biology
Environmental Science
Statistics
Calculus
Trigonometry
American History
European History
Government
American Literature
Language
Psychology

IB
Selected few can take them (me included)

Classes are about 10 students or less

Must haves to graduate with IB Diploma:
-90+ hours community service

• 4 years of foreign language (Spanish for me)
    -IB Elective

Classes:
Chemistry
Biology
Physics
Economics
American Literature
Mathematic Studies
Theory of Knowledge (elective)
IB Music
Film
French (part of 4 years language)
Spanish (part of 4 years language)
Visual Arts
Theater