IGETC questions

I’m a HS sophomore from CA, my aim is to get into UC or CSU(STEM-related) .

Due to the high demand for AP in our school, there’s no guarantee that I’ll get the AP/hons of my choice next year .(I didn’t get UC honors classes this year despite being eligible but my triplet sister did :frowning:

I want to do some of the general ed requirements for UC through AP and cc classes so that I can get the credit and save money ? Any idea which ones?

I checked assist,org trying to figure out the (a-g / IGETC but I am a bit confused on how to figure it out.

Please enlighten me on this. Any suggestions is appreciated

Thanks in advance

IGETC is mainly for transfer students and for some majors, IGETC is not recommended. Do you have an idea of what you plan to study in college?

I would look at the 7 course GE pattern instead if you want to take a few courses at a CC. Also realize depending upon intended major some AP courses cannot be used at the UC’s for major prep.

• Two transferable courses in English composition;
  • One transferable course in mathematical concepts and quantitative reasoning;
  • Four transferable college courses chosen from at least two of the following subject areas:
    • arts and humanities
    • social and behavioral sciences
    • physical and biological sciences
  1. You can only use AP credit for 1 of the 2 English composition courses for UC GE completion.

2. For a CSU, you will also need an Oral communication/Speech course

3. You will want to take courses that not only fulfill UC/CSU GE requirements but HS graduation requirements.

4. CC courses will be on your permanent college transcript so if you plan to apply to Professional or Graduate school, you will have disclose the grades. Make sure you select courses you believe you can do well in ie. get A’s.

What course areas are you most interested in?