I'm looking for recruiting stories at VT.

<p>I'm looking for recruiting stories at VT.</p>

<p>Can someone please explain your experience with career fairs, or any initiatives the career services launched? Or any recruiting stories in general. </p>

<p>For example:
"I'm a political science major and speak 4 languages. My advisor e-mailed me to meet him in the XYZ building, Room 12345 and to wear a suit. The next thing I knew I was sitting in the room with the Department of Homeland Security."</p>

<p>^ True story I read on metafilter.</p>

<p>I was an engineer. The centerpiece of recruiting for us is the Engineering Expo, where hundreds of companies come and you whore your resume out to as many people as you can in hopes of getting a couple on campus interviews.</p>

<p>My freshman year I didn’t get any call backs. I ended up getting an internship when I cold called the WVDOT and convinced them that Materials Science Engineering is basically Civil Engineering so I should be eligible.</p>

<p>Sophomore year I did get a couple call backs. I ended up with on campus interviews for two companies, and I got an offer from one of them, which I took.</p>

<p>Junior year I got a few call backs and 3 on campus interviews. One lead to an offer while another lead to an on-site interview. I didn’t end up taking either for financial reasons. I got an internship that year because I knew someone that knew someone that knew where an opening was.</p>