Impact of dual enrollment classes on UC/CSU capped GPA

Hi. I’m a HS Freshman, and I’ve taken a few CC classes and really enjoyed them. I’d like to keep taking them to offset the cost of college (the CC offered 11.5 units a semester for free to our HS). My concern is, I want to apply to Cal Poly, Davis, etc. - and they all have GPA caps. If I take even one class a semester, the cap would actually bring my capped gpa down. How do early college/ middle colleges get students into choice colleges with this issue? I Have run the numbers through Roger’s, and I’d have to not take HS AP’s, or dump my elective to not take the GPA hit.

1 Like

This is more of an issue for more selective CSUs (CPSLO) or more selective majors at CSUs (e.g. CS at SJSU and CPP), where the weighted capped GPA gets plugged into an admission index formula, and the threshold is likely to be high enough that, among students with all A grades, the number of total courses effect on weighted capped GPA matters.

UCs have holistic reviews considering unweighted, weighted capped, and fully weighted GPAs and other factors like opportunities taken versus foregone. An applicant trying to game the weighted capped GPA by taking the minimum possible number of courses may end up with a less impressive academic record in a holistic review compared to one who took additional academic courses and did well in them.

As mentioned the Cal States only use the Capped weighted GPA, but the UC’s consider all three UC GPA’s in their comprehensive review.

The CC classes may decrease you Capped weighted GPA, but the schools will also consider HS course rigor and the # of a-g courses taken above and beyond the minimum requirements so you can still be competitive. Your 9-11th grades/courses along with 12th grade planned and in-progress courses will be listed on both the CSU and UC applications so your overall academics will be considered not just your GPA.