Interesting question for current students..

<p>For current students at UM: IF you had to name 3 things you do not like about UM, what would they be? </p>

<p>Perhaps you love it so much that you really don't have three things :). But for this question, explain three things about UM that annoy you the most.</p>

<p>As a prospective student, I'm interested to hear some answers. Any feedback is appreciated.</p>

<p>I would like to preface this by saying I love it here, but here are three things I don’t like:</p>

<ol>
<li><p>The rich kid mentality. I’m astounded sometimes by how much people really pay no attention to spending money. I’m frugal by nature so it ****es me off when people just buy their books from the bookstore without even looking at buying online. In some cases, you can save $100 just by buying it on Amazon. Also, a lot of people are really into appearances. The gym is always packed. But my friends aren’t really like that so I guess it just depends on who you fall in with.</p></li>
<li><p>Not having a car. The metro costs $2 each way and the weekend schedule sucks (trains are 30 minutes apart and are NEVER on time). We end up having to take taxis when we want to go to the beach (I recommend getting a van taxi and split it 7 ways). A lot of the best things to do in Miami are only conveniently accessible by car, so that’s a downside.</p></li>
<li><p>The dining halls aren’t open during break. Since I’m from out-of-state (we’re talking about 1200 miles here), I find it pointless to pay for a plane ticket for a 3-day visit for Thanksgiving. And of course, we have no kitchen, so I pretty much end up having to stockpile food and go out to eat a lot.</p></li>
</ol>

<p>Thanks for the reply again! lol.</p>

<p>Ya I have a job and plan on getting one sometime during freshman year because I don’t want to have to borrow money from my parents (they are already paying my tuition and plane ticket costs!).</p>

<p>