interlochen summer creative writing: should i go?

hi, i’m a sophomore who just got accepted to the interlochen summer academy’s creative writing program but i’m having doubts since the payment is so high and they have a really narrow commitment window… the experience seems really cool but how competitive is it/what’s the class size? i’m still waiting on many other program decisions too and basically everything depends on the financial aid i can get. can anyone offer advice?

Congratulations. My son also just got in. He is definitely going. I don’t think it is very competitive as there is a huge number of kids going each summer (I thought I read 2500 total) but it is educational and at the same time a fun summer experience. It is very long and very expensive, I agree.

Hi! I’m a sophomore too, and I just got into interlochen. I keep finding either super positive or super negative reviews, and I have no idea which to believe. It’s also super expensive, and I don’t know whether to wait and see what other programs I get into, or to just take a chance. PM me if you figure out any reliable sources, or just want someone to compare reviews/freak out with!!!

hey avocado, i can’t pm you bc i’m too new :frowning: but i’d love to compare writing programs! i’m pretty much declining interlochen, the cost is just massive along with the uniforms/travel (my family is low income so i doubt we could even pay the down payment). i’m guessing interlochen is just really enjoyable like a lot of creative summer experiences are, probably not the most selective.
i just got into sewanee so if the aid’s good i may be attending, but i’m also trying for iowa, kenyon, and bard yww. u can contact me by email or instagram i guess?? lmk if u want my contact info :slight_smile:

@AvocadoOptemist ^

@beiurre Yeah! I’d love to discuss. I’m for sure not going to interlochen but looking at other ones right now a little. Hmu with that contact info!

congrats! same

should

be fun