Interview tips?

Hi CC! (This is my first time posting but here goes nothing)
I am a 8th grader on the west coast applying to some boarding schools for 9th grade and today I had my first interview. It was in a quaint coffee shop and around 40 minutes long (is this a good time?) However, I don’t think the interview was anything special. It was just a back and forth of question and answer and my interviewer’s affable smile seemed a bit forced. I think I did ask some good questions at the end but should I be worried about an average interview? I really like this school and would appreciate some tips on my next interviews. Thanks in advance!

Well the interview time doesn’t matter that much, some interviews can go from 20-1 hour. For me when I had interviews they were usually 40 minutes so you’ll be fine.

You don’t have to worry about preparing anything for the interview. Just prepare the interview questions they say they would ask you, and try to be your genuine self. Don’t pretend to be someone else you’re not.

Heres some tips:

-Research the school beforehand. Like try to research the school like 2-3 days before it and try to see what programs or any current events that happened in the school. For example some schools publish their newspaper or look at their instagram account and if they had a huge party 3 days ago, ask about that party.

-Dress like what students from that boarding school would dress like. If the boarding school dress code is a blazer, wear a blazer.

-Body posture and eye contact. Try to be confident and try to make yourself seem casual. Think of the interviewer as a friend. Don’t be nervous and look wildly at everything and just maintain eye contact to seem confident even if you’re not.

-Prepare for common questions. If you search up “Common Questions Asked In Private High School Interviews” there will be a lot of questions that pop up that most schools ask.