Is applied mathematics, engineering and physics a competitive major at uw-madison?

Hey guys, so i just got rejected from uw-madison yesterday and tbh i felt terrible about it… I’m a transfer student majoring in computer engineering (top 10 program in U.S) in a 4 year university. I chose applied mathematics, engineering and physics to be the first choice major because i have a pretty low gpa 3.1… it’s been pretty hard to get a rather high gpa in this major at my current college. I’m just wondering if applied mathematics, engineering and physics a very competitive major at uw-madison? not to offense but i didn’t see any ranking about this major in anywhere and uw-madison doesn’t really say a lot about this major on the website.
Currently i’m thinking about appealing and do you guys think it’s a nice move?

I would not appeal unless there are mistakes on your application or you have new information. Your GPA suggests you are a B student in math, etc., and their expectations may be higher at the UW.

MAE&P was one of the most challenging majors at my university (back in the day). Only the brightest of the brightest made it through. My guess is that you’d need a much higher GPA to be competitive for that major anywhere.

I agree with the above poster that unless something has changed with your GPA/application, there is no sense appealing.

oh i didn’t know this major was that competitive…
however, there actually was something wrong in my application because I changed my second major to environmental sciences like 10 days before the decision was out, so I assume that the admission officers didn’t see the change of request. The school replied me saying that they would review my request after I receive the decision , but I didn’t really know what it meant…

Wait, are you from Purdue too?

My daughter is at Purdue.

oh ok.
Purdue is good in engineering. I just don’t fit in here a lot :frowning:

Hope you find a better fit!

Thank you! :slight_smile: