Is Computer Based Honors Program only for those with experience?

Hello, I’ve recently applied to the University of Alabama Chemical Engineering Program with the hope of being admitted to the CBHP. Does anyone know if they only accept people that have experience in doing research in a similar fashion( computer based)? I have never done research before, but am very interested in doing research. I’ve taken AP Computer Science which may help but I’m not sure. I have a 4.0 GPA and 34 ACT so my stats are slightly above average, but will no experience hurt me? Any responses are greatly appreciated, thanks!

You do not have to be an experienced researcher or programmer to be admitted. Any experience might help, but certainly not necessary.

I was just at an Honors College presentation yesterday and I did not have the impression that you needed that type of experience; it seemed like it was more stats driven (?). You have great stats!

A long time ago, it was expressed that the program preferred students without extensive programming experience. Apart from a few people, there is a large push to rename the program to something like Research Honors Program as many students think that they have to know a lot about computer programming to be admitted into the program.

Apply to CBHP. It’s an excellent program.