Is Computer Engineering Worth It at Madison?

I am an incoming freshman that was recently admitted into the CoE for CMPE. They have not given me any scholarships, or need based aid, they only offered two loans.

The cost of attendance, being OOS, is around 56k. From my knowledge I know I have around 100k saved up, yet I am afraid after I graduate I will be in an insane amount of debt. Will majoring in computer engineering yield jobs that will be able to manage those debts, furthermore is it worth it at UW Madison?

The only other choice I have is UIUC for pre-engineerjng for a tuiton significantly lower than UW Madison. However knowing that I want to pursue a career in CS/CMPE I’ve heard horror stories of people failing to transfer into the CoE at Urbana and thus waste their money.

Sorry if this post turned into a dilemna, I just don’t know if it’s worth to study CMPE at Madison.

That is tough dilemma @teperloll. I have a sophomore CE at another Big10 university. I’d be hesitant to send him to a college not being a direct admit to his major. What GPA do you need to declare engineering at UIUC? What classes are you lacking to declare? At my son’s school, he says that some kids take classes at community colleges that are really hard. You just have to make sure that they transfer to your major before enrolling.

100K is a whole lot of debt. Perhaps you should have a conversation with your parents to get a clear picture of exactly how much money is saved and whether they can contribute anymore. They would still need to co-sign on any loans aside from the guaranteed student one. Would you take a gap year to save up some money?