Is George Washington University really competitive?

I’m applying to GW and just wanted to know if its really competitive there. I’m a straight A student at a pretty competitive high school, have taken AP classes, and am willing to put in the effort but i’m still scared if I’ll be able to handle the rigor of college. Is it really hard to get straight A’s and compete with the other students?

Well, getting straight-A’s depends on a few factors: the amount of effort you put-in, your natural talent in that field of study, and the class itself (curriculum and professor). There are plenty of classes that an “average GW student” will be able to achieve an A with moderate effort, but there are also classes where the professor will really make you work for it (typically introductory classes to competitive programs like International Affairs, Political Science, pre-med, etc)

I don’t know a single person with a 4.0 and I’m a junior, but it’d be concerning if there were a ton of people with 4.0s. College shouldn’t be easy, but with work and effort, it is very doable.