Is it worth it? (FA/FP, reapply)

Hi everyone,

I’m a freshman who applied to 5 schools this previous admission cycle. The results didn’t come back well, and I wondered if it’s worth reapplying as a repeating 10th next year.
I am now on the Hotchkiss waitlist and trying very hard to get a spot (emails, withdraw FA need, etc)
Will becoming FP increase my chances by a lot?

Hkiss is not my original top choice of the five. I’m worried I might regret going to Hotchkiss (if I’m lucky to get a spot) this year since that’ll be after I withdraw my FA. I feel like I could’ve had some chances (a WL perhaps) at the other four schools I was rejected from if I were FP since the beginning…so if I do not get off the waitlist, is it worth reapplying next year and don’t even bother applying FA from the start?

PS. It makes me think this way because I’m ORM, international, and needs FA when applying. (almost non-existent and straight-up rejection combo)

Thank you for reading, any advice is greatly appreciated!

2 Likes

Maybe. Maybe not.

We have no idea why you rejected.

I’ve been under the impression that FP/FA is usually more of an issue in determining whether one is accepted/waitlisted. After all, schools have only so many FA$, and most are not need blind.

1 Like

WL is not much chance at all. I am WL with several top schools. One of them was a school I applied for grade6, and got WL last time. This time my chance with this school didn’t improve at all, despite improved application stats, awards and essays.

OP was rejected by 4 schools, WL at Hotchkiss.
OP is wondering if those rejections would be at least a WL were they FP.

One might be WL’d for FA, but not rejected.

1 Like

Thanks for all the responses!