Is nursing at CSULB even worth it?

I’m in my first year of college right now at CSULB and I hate it. I wanted to go to a UC but got waitlisted then rejected. I feel miserable because I’m constantly feeling like I won’t get any job opportunities because I go to a CSU and not a UC. I know that nursing at CSULB is supposed to be highly regarded but is that really true?

I do not think you will have a problem getting a job with a BSN from CSULB. Do you hate it because you don’t think you’ll get a job or do you hate the program itself or the university or what? Also, if you get good grades, you can always go to a UC for grad school.

Hi, thank you so much for replying first of all. I hate being here because I’m sick everyone telling me that being at a UC is better and that I’m somehow inferior to people who go to a UC. I just wanted some reassurance that I’m not wasting my time pursing nursing here if hiring managers only care about UC nursing graduates. And yes, it is my goal to go to a UC for grad school

Getting a BSN at a UC will not open up any more job opportunities than getting a BSN at CSULB. What exactly do you hate about CSULB?

@Gumbymom I know this sounds incredibly immature, but I hate that there is an overall inferior perception of CSU vs UCs. I constantly feel like I’m inferior to my friends who go to UCs. And then I feel like that will affect my job outlook. Thank you for replying

@Emsmom1 ^

There is nothing “magic” about the UC’s and going there will not guarantee you or your friends a job. You can get just as good as an education at a CSU like Long Beach as you can at a UCI. I know it is difficult to ignore what other people think, but as long as you like the program and are doing well, you will succeed. Employers are more interested in what kind of job skill set you possess vs. the name of the school you attended. In a few years of working, it will not even matter. Best of luck and congratulations for getting into a selective program like Nursing.