Is "The Capstone...Just a Twenty-Minute University"?

<p>This was in yesterday’s CW. I don’t generally copy and paste, but the article is not on the website, so I can’t link it. I had to scan this from the paper to my computer. I highlighted the arguments I took away the most from the column.</p>

<p>

</p>

<p>So is this article implying that UA students are unhappy? That seems to go against everything I read here. </p>

<p>Might this also be some jealousy toward the honors college? Frankly, shouldn’t the honors students be getting more perks than the others?</p>

<p>Feeno … Thanks for posting. I’m new to the CW scene, but I understand that many campus newspapers tend to carry an us vs them undercurrent message. This is to be expected, but this theme of growth vs quality of life on campus doesn’t seem to hold water with me given what I’ve experienced myself on campus. Every campus has issues with parking, food service, crowded dorms, and the list goes on and on. UA has exceptional facilities and is building more. I’ve most certainly seen MUCH worse. It’s one thing to **** and moan, but I don’t read any suggestive ideas. Just a continuous litany of whining. My 2 cents …</p>

<p>I was thinking the same thing Chardo. And also the “elite honors” comment. I don’t find the set parameters to join the UHP or IHP elite at all. I find them generous, actually. And for good reason. CBHP and UF may be more elite, but all universities have some elite programs on their campus.
I am still trying to figure out the rub, and what is really causing the discontent.</p>

<p>

</p>

<p>Puh-lease! Let’s re-write that little ditty so it has some verisimilitude (oops, was that an “elite” word I just used?). Here goes:</p>