Is there a "start here" for the application process?

Hi,

I’m a mom to a Texas hs Jr. She’ll be (should be unless something crazy happens in the next 4 mos) an automatic admit and is applying to engineering (which I think is not automatic??).

I’d love to find a ck list of Do this 1st, Do this 2nd, on applications to complete, dates to be mindful of, etc… I know this is going to come at us hard & fast. Last kid went OOS to a small univ. & didn’t apply to any TX schools so I have no experience with the Apply TX app or Common App. Are those what TAMU uses for scholarship applications or is that something separate?

Any help at all would be appreciated! Thank you!

Welcome to the group! You are correct, Engineering is far from automatic. Apply in July. Use Apply Texas. There’s one essay and I believe another for Engineering. Have her work on that well before July and have English teacher review and edit. Get a strong Letter of Rec. Make sure you guys are writing down every little thing she does for extracurricular, especially if engineering related. Hopefully she has or is taking AP physics, Calc etc. to strengthen her app. They look for readiness in these areas. What are her test scores?

The sooner she applies, the sooner she’ll hear for Engineering, in theory. BUT it won’t be until after Oct. 15th. Be sure to put down a second choice major other than engineering if she has any other interest. You apply as a specific eng. major but if accepted, everyone goes in as general engineering then applies at end of freshman year for specialty.

I have no clue on scholarships. I’ll let someone else take that! Hope this helped a little! Good luck and don’t stress… too much.

For scholarships, (at least with Apply Texas), the application is submited through the website as well. That should also be filled out as soon as possible. The non need based ones are rolling.