Is there any reason I should pick IB over AP?

<p>My school offers IB and AP. I'm currently a freshman in MYP. Lately I've been questioning whether or not I should do IB diploma when I get to junior and senior year. A couple seniors have told me about how much work it is and how they literally have no life and I'm seriously so unsure if I'm making the right choice or not. </p>

<p>The teachers at my school all worship IB and try to sell it to me whenever possible but I really don't know if it's worth it. I'm not really a "knowledge for the sake of knowledge" kind of person. I just want to get good grades, get into a good college, and leave. Would picking the AP route be okay? My school offers over 25 of them so I wouldn't be lacking. I just hate how stringent the IB course load is and I don't like all the extra requirements.</p>

<p>So to conclude my long spiel, does IB have any advantage over AP?</p>

<p>Well if you want to apply to University of Cambridge, YES!</p>

<p>I hear IB has more prestige. Not sure if true.</p>

<p>With 25 AP’s, you could do a lot there as well. I personally think you could do just as well picking a lot of AP’s because you have that much variety to choose from. And if the IB program at your school is that hard, you might have a little bit more free time.</p>

<p>Our D just graduated from a high school that offers a lot of AP’s and IB. She choose IB, and loved it. And she had a life. </p>

<p>A academic things to consider: how do you score on essay tests? Do you mind writing essays? Do you do well in all types of subjects (science/math as well as english/social studies)? Will the GC’s check off the "most demanding schedule if you do a full AP program (go ask–and find out what a full AP schedule is the GC)? </p>

<p>Are the seniors just trying to impress everyone with how hard they worked? Are they people that would have done a lot of EC’s anyway?</p>