Is transferring even possible for me/should I tell them about my trauma?

I am currently an Ivy League student who completed my first semester of junior year (meaning 2.5 years completed) and am ranked in the top 1% of my class. However, this past semester I dealt with severe trauma and abuse at my university, which is why I’m taking a break this semester and being on campus is unbearable for me.

When asked about why I’m transferring, should I bring this truth up? Or should I stick to academic/EC reasons… I’m worried that because I’ve done so well at my current university they’ll draw a red flag at my trying to transfer. I know I’d have to redo my fall semester if I transfer and would graduate a year later- that’s ok.

I am so sorry that you are dealing with this. Hugs to you!

Firstly, I think you need to make sure that you are physically and emotionally healthy. Take care of yourself. You have done well, but you really need to be productive and happy, no matter where you are. Are you seeing a counselor? Please do continue. It will help you to transition to the other school.

Was this abuse reported confidentially to your university? This is serious and is reportable. Please find out what the next steps are so that there isn’t another person who experiences what you have gone through.

I don’t think you should mention, initially, why you are transferring. If they do ask, then please ask if you can speak to someone confidentially re: you don’t feel that the current environment is safe.

Other posters will add more information.

Take care of yourself!

3 Likes