Is UW-M early action binding? Co2017 newbie to college apps

Through the Common App, is Madison’s early action binding? It’s “usually” not binding, while early decision “usually” is (according to google), but I’d like to know for sure before I click the button. I’m rather new to thinking about colleges so forgive me if this has an obvious answer.
Also, would early action give me a better chance of getting in? I’ve heard it doesn’t always. I’m confident I can get in EA or ED, but I’d like to have the decision a little sooner lol. Thanks!

UW doesn’t have ED. If you apply by 11/1, your will hear back by the end of January. No application window at UW is binding…

Don’t rely on Google,carefully read each school’s admissions website.

@intparent thank you! I did look at the website pages for freshman admissions but couldn’t find it explicitly stated. Seems like I’m applying early action :slight_smile:

They don’t really call it that. But you will get an earlier decision if you apply by 11/1.

@intparent The UW admissions website now refers to the November 1 application deadline as Early Action and the February 1 application deadline as Regular Decision.

@“Liesel Anne” it’s not UW-M unless you are referring to UW-Milwaukee.

Ah, I see they are using the term EA (on my phone, it didn’t jump out at me).

I suppose it has something to do with allowing the Common App now.

To address OP’s question about higher likelihood of being accepted EA, does anyone know the statistics regarding that? I thought I’ve read in previous years that everyone is strongly encouraged to apply by the early rather than regular deadline, but not sure whether that translates into a higher chance for admission.