Journalism and Law school and English confusion?

<p>I am a very confused college freshman needing help with a college degree. I have currently declared a Journalism major at University of Idaho. I have taken three years of high school on journalism and know that I enjoy it. However, I am worried for my job prospects after college and that many people seem to think that a journalism degree is not needed to be a journalist and having a journalism degree would therefore limit me.
My dream in life is to become a young adult novelist or a lawyer. However, I decided not to go with an English degree since I enjoy creative writing and did not enjoy writing an eleven page senior paper. I currently am working on writing a book on the side as I attend school.
With all of that information in mind I would like some advice on my career trajectory. Do journalism and law go well together? If so, to become what type of lawyer? I have also considered doing a dual major in Journalism and Environmental Science and then heading to law school to become an environmental lawyer. I was hoping with the dual major I would be able to find employment out of college if I do not become a lawyer. Thoughts on that? Would an English major better suit my needs than a Journalism major? Should I consider a different major entirely? </p>

<p>Thank you in advance anything helps.</p>

<p>My daughter faces the same dilemma. While she is the editor in chief for her school newspaper she so devoted and loved, she realizes that getting a job as a journalist after college is 1) limited and 2) low paid. Unless you are in one of the top journalism schools such as NW or Syracuse, the prospect of a great job may be limited to your connections more than your grades. </p>