Journalism Double Major With...

<p>My dream is to work for a publication such as National Geographic or Smithsonian magazine, because I am interested in historical and multicultural topics. I'm not sure if it would be best to double major/minor in Journalism and History or Journalism and Cultural Anthropology. I am more interested in Anthropology, because it seems to be a more relevent, applicable field in comparison to history. Cultural patterns interest me more than historical events. However, I am also tempted to choose History, because of the chance that I could get my teaching certification in it as a backup job in case journalism doesn't work out. My question is would it be too much to Major in Journalism and History (which would probably also include a minor in ed.) and come out in four-five years? If I majored in Journalism and Anthropology, but later wanted to be a history teacher, would it be easy to get my certification, or are there not enough overlapping courses between Anthropology and History? Has anyone in here ever majored or minored in Anthropology or History or considered it? Which path do you think would give me more options, along with a Journalism degree? Which do you think would be more interesting?
I'm currently taking AP US history, and I am quite bored by the purely rote memorization of names and dates. There is very little analysis/essay work. Do college history courses involve more synthesis of information? Is anthropology more analysis or is regurgitating information?</p>

<p>Depending on how carefully you plan your courses, a double major and minor is feasible, though you could also just major in one subject and double minor in the others if you think you won’t have enough time.</p>