Journalism vs. Political Science

<p>I'm not sure if I want to be a Political Analyst or a Political Journalist. What should I major in?</p>

<p>Can you major in both fields, or major in one and minor in the other? Or, major in political science, take some journalism/writing courses, and learn your journalism skills via work on student media and internships.</p>

<p>you should definitely do both. double majoring in journalism and political science wouldn’t be that hard but if you’re interested in poli sci, you def shouldn’t just do journalism. knowing how to write will be useless if you have nothing to write about.</p>

<p>I wandered over here from a theater forum where I am gathering info for my son…but I am a newspaper editor who has worked in Chicago, Florida and Washington State - now at a small paper in New Mexico.
I studied Political Science as an undergrad and then went to J School for a master’s. Yes, you can and should do both …You do not need to major in journalism but you should take enough classes to understand and work in digital media, photography and design. You should also make sure to take one class each in media law and business law…and one or two classes in longer-form news writing (magazine, feature writing). If possible, learn Excel and other databases and take a course in basic statistics.
It is more important to work on your college newspaper. Walk into the office the first week you are on campus and offer to do anything you can for the college paper…Do not go to a college that does not involve students in publishing a college newspaper. It is only by writing news and journalism stories that you will learn journalism writing.
Beyond that, you should major in something else: political science, economics, health, biology, music, history, whatever you want to spend your time covering as a news reporter is what you should study.</p>