Language requirement at UC (university of California)

Hi. I’m currently a high school student in California. I have taken Chinese 1 (101A), Chinese 2 (101 B), Chinese 3 (102A) in my high school. I was wondering if I would need to take Chinese 4 (102 B) to satisfy the language requirement at UC.

If I don’t take chinese 4, would I need to take a language class in UC or is Chinese 3 enough to fulfill the “Language other than English” requirement.

Note: I am planning to take a bio major in UC.

Thanks

UC’s require 2 years of a Foreign language but recommend 3 years so you are fine.

From the UC Website::::::
Language other than English (“e”) – Two years of the same language other than English or equivalent to the second level of high school instruction.

Oh okay. I was confused since my Chinese teacher kept saying, “1 year of Chinese in high school is worth only a semester in college.” So by her explanation, I have only completed 1.5 years of language rather than 2 years…

1 semester of a college level Foreign language = 1 year of a HS Foreign language class.

UC requires 2 years of foreign language (4 semesters bascially?). Since I have only took 3 years of Chinese in high school, does that mean I only have 3 semesters worth of language right now? Will I need to take 1 more semester of language in UC?

Note: I’m talking about UC graduation requirement, not to get into UC.

Thanks

Was your HS Chinese classes 1 semester each or 2 semesters each level?

Chinese 1 was 2 semesters…so were chinese 2 and 3

Chinese 1 gave me 5 units and so did chinese 2 and 3…so I have 15 units right now currently.

Then you have 3 years of a Foreign Language so you are all set for the UC’s.

Alright thanks a lot!
So from your answers what I got was, In college, they would have taught Chinese 1, 2, and 3 in 3 semesters (1.5 years), BUT since I took it in high school, it’s still counted as 3 years?

Yes, college courses move at a faster pace than HS courses.