Laptops, does size matter?

<p>I’m a Parent of income freshman. Do most students that have a laptop bring them to class for notes?</p>

<p>I’m looking to surprise my daughter w/ a laptop for Graduation, was thinking on going for 15.4”, but if students take them to class, should I get a smaller 14.1”?</p>

<p>Thinking Pc vs. Mac because she has never used a Mac, and is use to a PC.</p>

<p>Thanks</p>

<p>My son got a Mac, and has had absolutely no problem getting used to it-- it's pretty intuitive. It seems like many of the students at U of A are Mac fans (he had noticed that on a visit) and the bookstore sells them and services them. I know he does use it in class fairly often, and I think he has the 13" screen.</p>

<p>Get a PC because the world is PC....even more so in a university setting. Period. It is so irritating to hear the one rouge mac user constantly asking "does this work on my computer" or "how do I do this on a mac".</p>

<p>Next, don't waste your money getting a screen that is less than 14.1". 13"/12" are worthless because stuff will be too small to read/you won't be able to have enough windows open (multi-task). 15.4" is the sweet spot because it gives enough desktop real estate without being too heavy compared to a 17". 15.4" hardly weighs anything in the first place and you should have some sort of carrying case/backpack for it to make it even more manageable. If weight, however, is that much of an issue, get a 14.1" screen.</p>

<p>Most students do not bring laptops to class simply because it is easier and faster to take notes with pen and paper (especially math/engineering courses). Most of the kids that do bring laptops use them to look up sports scores during lectures.</p>

<p>Don't buy a tablet PC because they have more problems than their worth....scratched screen, broken swivel, etc. And the writing on the screen rarely works like you want it to</p>