Lehigh Student- Ask Me Anything!

I am a Lehigh freshman in the engineering college that would have loved to have some more information before I committed to this college. As admits start rolling in, I’d love to answer any questions as accurately as one person can. I am not affiliated with Lehigh admissions. Take what I say with a grain of salt- I am happy here despite this information being pretty negative.

Some things I would have liked to have known:

Greek life is dominant here.

The campus culture is not friendly.

If your household makes less than 80k annually you will be in the minority here.

Tuition costs are increasing for pretty much no reason. It is SO expensive and facilities aren’t great.

Sexual assault is more common here than the national college average.

If you are physically disabled you will have a hard time getting around campus. There are so many more stairs than you saw on tours.

I would recommend reading the Lehigh Lookaway satire website and getting on yikyak if you visit campus to get a feel for some of what goes on.

All of the engineering first years share the same singular advisor.

I have also met many amazing people here and am very happy despite not being in greek life. It is all about what you make of it. If anyone wants verification that I’m a student, I could provide that as well. Ask away and I will get back as soon as I can!

9 Likes

Thank you so much for answering questions!
What is school pride/athletic pride like?

1 Like

Pretty limited- of course there is LeLaf week before the Lehigh v Lafayette football game where spirit is super high and fun. Basketball games have good turnout occasionally. All sports events are free for students which is pretty cool. I will say there is some bribery in getting students to attend most sporting events if that tells you anything. There was a cash prize lottery for students that attended all the regular season basketball games or something like that.