Lewis and Clark vs. Willamette

<p>I know this has been done before, I just need some more insight. My question is; Willamette is more highly ranked than Lewis and Clark, but literally no one around me (I live in Chicago) has heard of it and everyone has heard of Lewis and Clark. It seems to me that Lewis and Clark has a wider reputation, whereas Willamette is lacking that well-known name. Do these things matter? Which is more important? I feel like I would fit in pretty well at both schools, so now I'm just trying to figure which is the better choice. Willamette did give me more merit aid, so they have that leg up. And thoughts? Thanks!</p>

<p>Prestige matters very little except in certain fields where recruiting is very focused. I’ve visited Willamette and a friend attended there (when dinosaurs roamed), my D attended L&C. Go to the one you like better that your family can afford. You’ll have an enjoyable experience at either one.</p>

<p>My husband and I graduated from Willamette, he graduated from the law school, we live down the street from Lewis and Clark and have many, many friends who are graduates, staff members, etc. both are wonderful places, but the character of the students and their settings differ: LC draws a more hipster/earthy crowd, Willamette has lots of students interested in politics and the arts. Willamette is within a block of the state Capitol, Supreme Court and Attorney General’s office, so you can actually get to the internship locations and don’t need a car. Although LC is in the city, it’s not walkable to restaurants, etc, so it’s more isolated, in a way. The food at Willamette is great (Rachel Ray visited and did a TV spot on it), but that was NOT the case back in our day. Facilities on both campuses are lovely, but Willamette has “hearths”, places where students hang out informally in groups or by themselves with close proximity to professors within the academic buildings. This encourages collaboration and closer ties and more academic