LGBTQ+ Acceptance at Scranton?

I was looking into Scranton and I think it might be a good fit for me, but I’m concerned about the level of acceptance by the students for gay students. I know it’s a Jesuit university, but I was just wondering how much I will enjoy it there as a lesbian (and atheist, although I’m not very vocal about religion at all anyway, I’m mostly concerned about being gay, because I AM vocal about that haha)

Hi! I’m a recent Scranton grad. Not gay myself, but I had a number of friends within the LGBTQ community at Scranton. It’s pretty welcoming, from what I saw and heard. One person in my friend group transitioned from female to male our senior year and seemed to do okay with that. I know other folks who are bi, genderqueer, gay, etc. I don’t recall my friends ever saying they felt threatened because of their sexual orientation or gender identity, and I think they overall felt accepted.

Of course, as you point out, Scranton’s Jesuit/Catholic. It’s definitely a liberal leaning campus but it also has a strong Catholic identity. A lot of students were raised Catholic but are accepting. It’s also not a particularly politically active campus (you won’t see protests or anything). That said, it’s in Northeast PA, which as a whole tends to be more conservative. I graduated a couple of years ago so I can’t say for sure whether you would see the rare MAGA hat around. You’d have to visit when school’s in session to see how comfortable you feel.