Longwood University's BFA in Theatre Performance, Musical Theatre minor

Hello prospective students and their families,

My name is Professor RJ Magee and I am a Visiting Assistant Professor of Acting at Longwood University. I joined Longwood’s Department of Theatre, Art, and Graphic Animation & Design this semester after completing my MFA in Theatre Arts (Musical Theatre Concentration) at Minnesota State University, Mankato in May. I was a member of the first musical theatre class at Temple University and I spent my junior and senior years of high school studying at Interlochen Arts Academy as a theatre major (my classmates included Betty Who, Kimiko Glenn, and Charlie Martens). Aside from my teaching responsibilities, I still work professionally as an actor, casting director, and talent manager. This past summer I appeared in Anything Goes at the Black Rock Theater. Our cast was made up of many current and former CCM MT students.

I wanted to introduce this community to the theatre program at Longwood.
In addition to having a selective BFA in Theatre Performance and a minor in Musical Theatre (the latter degree program being one of the few in the country), we have a prestigious and rigorous Theatre Education program for aspiring K-12 educators. We are a small program (less than thirty theatre students total) within a smallish university (under 5000 undergrad) with A LOT of individual attention. The campus is absolutely drop dead gorgeous. Out of all the universities that I have been at, this is by far the most connected and tight-knit campus community. In a way that is not dissimilar to my experience at Interlochen, everyone knows everyone. However, the academic and classroom environment is a little more formal and my students have to call me Professor Magee. Academics are also treated very seriously here.