• US domestic
  • Atlanta metro
  • Competitive large public HS
  • Not URM

Intended Major(s)
Math
Possibly CS, unlikely to go outside STEM

GPA, Rank, and Test Scores

• Unweighted HS GPA: 3.717 (listing exactly what the HS transcript says)
  • Weighted HS GPA: 4.196
  • Class Rank: Outside Val/Sal, HS does not rank
  • ACT/SAT Scores: 36 one sitting (Math and English 35, Reading and Science 36)

Coursework

Taken

APHG 5
AP World 4
AP Micro 5
AP Gov 3
AP Calc BC 5
AP CSP 4
AP CSA 5
APUSH 4
Latin 3

Taking

AP Lit
AP Mechanics
His other courses are post APs - CS, Latin, MV Calc, plus Orchestra. He was rejected from distance math at GT.

Awards
AP Scholar
NMSF

Extracurriculars
Viola in highest level orchestra at school - the program is nationally recognized but he has no individual recognition
Boy Scouts but not Eagle
Self taught on bass guitar
Black belt
US Naval Academy Summer Seminar

Essays/LORs/Other
He wrote about liking facts/math, learning bass/being viola player, and helping to keep his martial arts school open after Covid…tied it together using the concept of forming a foundation. His essay is clearly his voice but his voice is direct and simple. So yes authentic, but maybe simple comes across as flat.

LORs are probably just ok. He’s a quiet kid in a sea of high achievers.

Cost Constraints / Budget
Here to blow the budget

Schools So Far

• University of Alabama - accepted with Presidential Elite scholarship, expecting National Merit scholarship (his school is good about getting everyone to Finalist), plan to visit after other decisions come in so he has fewer what ifs in his head
  • UAH - accepted, automatic Presidential Scholarship of 4 years tuition and 1st year housing, visiting next month
  • Auburn - accepted, waiting to hear about Academic Presidential Scholarship of 17k per year, visited and liked
  • Clemson - applied EA, visited and liked
  • UGA - applied EA, best guess is deferral then acceptance in RD, will visit if accepted