Losing scholarship

<p>So DD’s midterms are not looking so great. She is on the presidential scholarship. How does it work when a scholarship is in jeopardy of being lost or what happens once it is lost?</p>

<p>She has to have a 3.0 average by the end of spring semester. The loss at that point is permanent.</p>

<p>How bad is her situation? Can she drop the class that she won’t likely be able to “bring up” the grade?</p>

<p>Has she spoken with her profs?</p>

<p>How many credits does she have now? You need to “do the math” and calculate if she drops a class, then works on the other classes, what will her GPA be…and then next semester, if she carefully manages a higher number of credits, will her cum GPA be a 3.0?</p>

<p>You also have to look at how many credits each class has. A C in a 5 credit class is harder to “balance”.</p>

<p>I am not an expert, but I believe I remember reading that the continuation of the scholarships (GPA) is determined after completion of a full year, not after each semester. If this is true, she may still have time to bring her GPA up. Don’t panic yet. Get her tutors or whatever else may help. </p>

<p>I have found some of the grading at the college level to be strange to say the least. For example, today my daughter took a two question quiz in one of her engineering classes. She got the second question wrong, resulting in a 50% on the quiz, and thus dropping her grade by 8% points in that class. The kicker for me was that the question had nothing to do with the class, but rather with a popular TV show. The funniest part is that it is my daughters favorite show. Ugggg</p>

<p>It is still early enough to turn around. Encourage her to get tutoring.</p>

<p>Have you seen actual midterm grades posted yet, or is that what she is figuring based returned papers and tests? </p>

<p>Sent from my DROID RAZR using CC</p>