Macalester vs Colby vs Lake Forest College for Environmental Studies

My top 3 college choices right now are Macalester, Colby and Lake Forest. Although I like Macalester the most, Colby is the most prestigious with the best environmental studies program. At the same time, Lake Forest College is offering me a full scholarship. Although I can afford to invest in Macalester or Colby which cost roughly the same for me, going to Lake Forest would be a huge financial relief. Lake Forest has also given me the smallest work study package and I feel like I will feel a lot less financial pressure. Especially as an international student, I will also be able to travel home often.

Yet, I am aware that Lake Forest is ranked much lower than the other two schools. Their environmental studies program is also not as specialized and well developed as the other two. I also plan to potentially pursue graduate studies further or get a PhD and go into academia. I am very confused about the choice to make here.

1 Like

Macalester’s environmental studies program receives sufficient recognition (e.g., Top Colleges - Environmental Science) for you to place it, cost aside, as your first-choice school since you appear to like it the most generally.

If you can make an academic case for Lake Forest, then it would offer obvious financial benefits and perhaps a good opportunity overall. This may be an underrated school.

Based purely on program strength, Colby probably will remain justifiably tempting to you.

1 Like

The full scholarship is hard to ignore. All the moreso because you describe it as a “huge financial relief.” Personally, I’d describe a full scholarship the same way. Being in a financial situation where you are able to visit home without financial distress is not something to be overlooked. Also, the lower COA will positively affect many other parts of your life during and after college.