Math Level 1 or Math level 2

Hi I am an international student from India in 10th grade and plan on majoring in economics at Harvard do you suggest I go for math level 1 or 2. I have only taken pre calculus classes till now and got an average score of 80/100.

If you have completed precalc, take M2. Othetwise, M1

That’s a nice plan, but hopefully you have alternatives.

And yes, if you’ve taken pre-Calc, Math 2 would be expected.

Thanks a lot I will mostly take math 2.

@Arnavbajaj My son found it was easier to get a higher score in the math 2 than the math 1. He later wished he had only taken the math 2. Be sure to buy a practice book and take practice tests to get your speed up.

@BunnyBlue Thanks a lot the advice. Do you recommended the Barron’s sat math level 2 and dr John Chungs math 2 books along with the official college board guide and a pre calculus intro book? also which calculator do you suggest buying.

The Math Level 1 isn’t much taken, and isn’t much submitted to schools like Harvard.

Harvard takes about 7 students a year from India. A high percentage of students accepted to schools like that in general have hooks, like large contributions, or major family or political connections. So there might be 3 slots available from India based on academics. It is fine to apply to top US schools and see what happens, but I wouldn’t focus to much on Harvard. Most students in India qualify for financial aid, but that probably makes it harder to get in. Otherwise, it will cost at least $200K total.

The material at the beginning of Barons by topic is really good. If you are looking for a top score, the new book “Ultimate Advanced Guide to the SAT Math 2 Subject Test” is much more advanced than Barrons and Dr. Chungs.