MBA right after undergrad?

Im a second semester freshman (sophomore standing, I will be graduating a year early) and Im interested in pursuing my MBA I know usually people wait a couple of years and then go back but I want to do it now. Ive heard a lot of people say to wait because I need the real world knowledge to apply the concepts. I understand the logic behind waiting but my reason for pursuing my MBA is because I want to start my own business and think that the higher level concepts and resources I would option from a highly ranked school would help me be more successful. Iā€™m currently working on a business that I think will be a good start for me and that I can slowly grow over the next couple of years. Im asking now bc the timeline Im on would require me to start taking the GRE/ GMat next year. I am looking into more fresh out of college programs like NYU Stern and Yale SOM. So what do you guys think? Am I being dumb or do you think this is a good idea? People do +1 programs in undergrad all the time so am I just overthinking?

One idea would be starting the business without the degree, read books on entrepreneurship, find mentors with similar businesses.

Another idea is a MS in Management instead of an MBA.

3 Likes

I was considering the MS as well bc the programs can sometimes be only a year. I still have a lot of thinking to do

I had one year of corporate experience before starting an MBA and it was a mistake. Not a fatal mistake- Iā€™ve had a terrific career-- but I did not get as much out of the program as I would have if Iā€™d stayed at my job for a second year.