Merit aid changes coming?

<p>Are there any early indications as to whether Alabama will change or tighten its generous automatic merit aid awards program next year?. I know Alabama has been incredibly successful attracting top students because of it. Maybe too successful?</p>

<p>We don’t know. There was a change to the NMF scholarship, and the Alumni Crimson Scholarship this year. I would think that it is a possibility and prepare by getting the highest ACT/SAT scores as possible, I would encourage my student to aim for a point or two higher on the ACT than the current score listed, and the best possible score on the SAT.</p>

<p>It’s too early to know. Decisions are usually made between May and mid-summer.</p>

<p>If I’m an admitted incoming freshman with a merit scholarship (presidential), is there a possibility of the changes affecting my merit aid package or is it guaranteed for my four years?</p>

<p>It’s guaranteed for your four years. Don’t worry. :)</p>

<p>Finger crossed for DD! She will be applying in July. We are praying that a 32 on the ACT is still good for the full tuition scholarship! She will take it twice more before July to ensure the best score. In her mind she is already part of the Crimson Tide so we are really hoping nothing changes!</p>

<p>Now that my DD has FINALLY committed to Bama for the Fall, I have a Sophomore Son who wants to be a band teacher . . . and the Million Dollar Band would be fantastic for him!!! I think he can get the 32, just hoping the scholarship is around in 2 years!!</p>