Merit Scholarship

Has anyone get merit scholarships from Virginia Tech? When should we expect to hear?

I am waiting too. I might call the school.

Financial Aid packages (including scholarships through their office) generally come out in late March/early April. Departmental scholarships (Engineering, Pamplin Honors, etc) have come out around the same time, but it can be sooner depending on how fast they are working. The admissions page states that scholarships and financial aid will come out in March.

As a returning student, I received notification of scholarships as early as March but as late as June.

Since different offices handle different scholarships and generally don’t communicate much with each other, you may have to call multiple places to find out when decisions will be made.

My financial aid report is available now on HokieSpa, and on my application page under the “accepted” status. No word on scholarships yet though.

My financial aid report was online today as well, but underneath there was something that read Hokie Scholarship that would give me $6,000 for my first year at tech. I was kind of hoping for more since I am out of state. Hoping that it is still possible for me to receive another scholarship!

@rockvillegirl28, @HHSHawk, Just wondering, how did you guys access the HokieSpa, did you have to generate a PID or is it a link from the application status page?

@nuhsgrad , yep! You have to create your PID account to get into hokie spa. But my letter is also available on the application status page right under my decision.

Ah, ok. I just checked my portal. I also received the Hokie scholarship, but it is really not enough considering I’m also an OOS applicant. I’d be shelling out around 20k a year in loans which is definitely not something I would be comfortable with. Oh well, thanks so much for the information! Hopefully that’s not it for scholarships from VT. :slight_smile: