Middlesex Q&A / Discussion

Hey Guys,

If anyone has any questions, even really silly ones, feel free to ask. I graduated from MX last May :blush:

As always for these types of threads, anyone is free to contribute and answer questions!

2 Likes

Is there any chance of getting off the Middlesex waitlist? And if so, how???

1 Like

check the WL thread

1 Like

what @lilyesh said. There is a chance, but rarely is that something you can predict or do anything about :slight_smile: .

My son did not make it off the Middlesex waitlist last year. Good luck to you!

@Atria Does Middlesex have writing workshop for kids starting 9th grade and they tell the students to forget everything they know, and teach them from scratch? I remember hearing something like this in one of the events. Am I correct? What are the best things about Middlesex? Would it be more suitable for STEM or humanities type of kids? Thanks!

Ah writing workshop! Truly one of the most valuable skills MX taught me. Absolutely transformative. In 9th grade itā€™s not very intensive, I think you learn fundamental grammar conventions, crafting good sentences, and paragraphs. The workshop really starts up in 10th grade. I came in as a 10th grader, so the transition from normal writing to MX was more extreme. But if you come in as a 9th grader and have that nice foundation you have a much easier time. But in essence yes, what most public schools teach as paragraph building is promptly abandoned (my writing world view took a big hit the first couple weeks of WW) and you build anew. I still remember how different the flow of a ā€œnormalā€ essay I used to write in public school was when compared to a MX essay (day and night). By the end of 10th grade the writing style is so engrained, its second nature. Also, after you really get the writing style down by 10th, in junior year you are given a bit more leeway and can develop and explore further.