More information on FIT - class of 2023

Hey everybody!

I was accepted to FIT as an Ocean Engineering major back in November through rolling decision. They offered me a scholarship and a grant for my total cost.
Could any current students and alumni provide more information and insight about the school in general? Student life, living on campus, academic programs (specifically Ocean Engineering), sports (I was looking at the surf team), and just what’s it like to have Melbourne as a college town? A lot of the information and threads I found on the internet regarding FIT was kind of outdated, and I would like to see what the school is like now. Even some of the mailings I have received have statistics as recent as 2016.

More information: I am an OOS student so it is harder for me to come down to FL and plan a college visit or a Discovery Day during the week. I am currently waiting to hear back from 4 different colleges by March, so it will be a while before I make my final decision.

The nice thing about FIT is that the campus is small, classes are small, and there are only around 5,000 students. You’ll get to know people and your professors better than at a big school. There aren’t many dining options on campus (again, since it’s small), but the few dining options are great. The main dining hall has excellent food.

Melbourne as a beach town. It’s mostly professional (engineers at Northrop, Harris, etc.) or retired people. FIT used to have a bus on the weekend to Downtown Melbourne. I’m not sure it still runs, but Downtown Melbourne was the sport for students. It has a bunch of bars that are nice for socializing.

I believe the surf team is a club so anyone can join. The other sports at FIT aren’t very popular. The stereotypes are true, it seems the engineers aren’t very interested in sports. I saw an email the other day about esports. It looks FIT might be adding esports teams. I think esports would be a better fit at FIT than physical sports.