Moving out of state during high school

Hello, I am an incoming freshman in high school this fall, and I am also new to College Confidential. I live in a rural Midwest, and due to my parents’ job, I might be moving out of state either before my sophomore year or my junior year. We are not quite sure where yet though.

I heard that it could be very hard to build your high school resume if you transfer high schools in between-and I am wondering if the curriculum will be harder in more competitive states (i.e. California, Virginia) so whether I would be able to keep up academically, and also in terms of extracurricular activities where I have to start all over again from scratch.

I am more than willing to accept the bitter truth that it is not going to be easy :slight_smile:
For those of you who have experienced this, what would be your advice for me?

Thank you everyone!!! (I am not sure how to use the tags yet)

Do you have an idea of what possible destination states there can be?

If a move has to occur during high school, it is probably better for it to happen earlier than later:

1. Less likelihood of need to “catch up” on graduation requirements in the new high school that could displace other courses that are desired to take.
  2. More time to get to know teachers and counselors for recommendations before they are needed for college applications.
  3. More time to get involved in and achieve in extracurricular activities that are school based or local area based.
  4. For some (not all) states, graduating high school in the state after three years of attendance ensures in-state status or equivalent at state universities even if your parents move out of the state later.

The variance between High Schools in a state is likely higher than between states.

1 Like

I 100% agree with this, speaking as someone who attended public schools is some states that are fairly low on state educational “rankings” as well as at some top public schools in “high ranking” states.