Music Performance Transfer

Our student has applied to transfer for fall 2023 after almost 2 years of bullying by studio professor.

Anyone have any infor or experience with CCM and Lawrence? Joe are their programs? Oboe studios ?

Thanks !

1 Like

I’m just so sorry to hear this. When people ask about performance music schools, my answer is always, always look first at the teacher, and their reputation, including how they are to work with, and then at the school of music, the academics, the location. Your student can probably find out much more via reddit, facebook groups, etc that are frequented by college aged oboe students than you could find out here.

1 Like

Just for the record they did all that. They thought they choose the best teacher and did not focus on the school.

It is a nightmare. This person should not be allowed to teach. I’m a professor in higher education and cannot believe this treatment/behavior/abuse is being allowed.

Their fear now is that they thought they did all they could to choose the right fit with a teacher. And here they are.

So reaching out here to see if anyone has experiences with either of those studios is one resource to help our student decide .

1 Like

I don’t know about piano, but my son was accepted at Lawrence EA. He had visited and really liked the students/faculty and all the opportunities around Appleton. He has had a sample lesson with the current teacher(cello) who is not the faculty member who first got him interested in Lawerence. We also discovered that another teacher my son had performed in a master class for and liked had also been a professor there.

The Lawrence vibe seems collegial, so I would consider them! We have had nothing but positive experiences with their faculty and students.

2 Likes

@sillinessforBschools i think this student is an oboe player.

But I do love your description of the collegial nature of the college.

1 Like