My chances?

Hey guys, I’m a sophomore who is looking to transfer in for Spring 2017. I currently go to a prestigious, highly ranked, very rigorous and well-regarded private school in the midwest. After this semester I will have 45 credits done, and my GPA is a 3.37. I am from Minnesota, and went to a highly competitive, college prep school, and my GPA was a 3.45 (school didn’t weight grades) and this was about top 35% of my class. My ACT is a 34, my letters of rec are pretty strong, and my extracurriculars are strong as well. The school I currently attend is definitely harder to get into than Madison, but I am nervous due to my good, not great GPA, and the fact that I am from Minnesota. I applied to the college of arts and sciences open major. How are my chances looking?

It’s called College of Letters & Science.

My bad, used to calling it College of Arts and Sciences from my current school. My apologies! I’m applying for College of Letters and Science.

Did you apply to UW-Madison originally as a senior in school?

I did but I withdrew my application when I got into my current school, so I never received a decision.

@badger81 check out page three of the following for transfer admit rates from MN:

https://apir.wisc.edu/admissions/New_Transfer_Applicants.pdf

@JBStillFlying Well that is interesting. Being from Minnesota, I hear all the time about it being harder to get in from Minnesota than anywhere else, but obviously that’s not true. Still nervous though, my GPA in college and high school is alright, but looking around I see most applicants have higher GPAs which makes me uneasy about my chances.