My chances?

I’m applying to grade 6.

I think I have great teacher recs but my school doesn’t do letter grades like A,B,C. I’m the best student in my class though.
all 9s on ISEE

I’m really involved in theater, dance, and music (20+ hours a week) but I don’t have any awards because I haven’t done competitions. I do some sports but not competitively so didn’t mention but did say I was interested in doing.

I’m a really good writer for my age so I think my essays were good and my interview went okay to well (I got a bit nervous).

What do you think my chances at top NYC and NJ schools are? I only applied to 3 in all which maybe was a mistake. I go to public school and don’t have a fallback. My parents will pay so I don’t need aid.

Everybody here has really impressive activities and awards for grade 9. Do I seem ok for grade 6? no one in my school is applying to private school so I don’t have real people to compare to. I really want to go to boarding school in grade 9 but I don’t think I’ll have a chance if I don’t go to private school now because my public school doesn’t have any advanced classes.

2 Likes

Just because you don’t go to a private school doesn’t mean you can’t get into a good boarding school. In fact, about 50% of people in many boarding schools came from public schools.

I’ll say what I say to most people applying for 9th grade.

You are still very young. It’s understandable that you don’t have awards or top honors in anything. Quite frankly, it wouldn’t mean much as kids change so quickly from 6-9th grade. You have as much of a chance as anyone out there if you work hard on your essays and get decent test scores. Be yourself, cast a wide net and find the school that is the best fit for you rather than trying to get into a school based on its status.

3 Likes