My Honest Review on RPI

So This is gonna be long because I want to give a really honest and comprehensive review of my experience at RPI. Skip to the bottom if you just want the quick pros and cons.

To start off, I plan to transfer schools. I’m currently a sophomore going into junior year. That probably gives you a good idea of how I feel here. Don’t worry though, I plan on both getting into the good and bad about RPI.

When I first looked at the reviews of the school 2-3 years ago coming up to senior year, I was really hopeful that RPI could be a good fit for me. I was looking for a smaller to medium-sized school with a good background in engineering and lots of research and/or employment opportunities. RPI seemed good. The reviews seemed to make it out to be too. The only thing is it was a little expensive, but we’ll get into that later.

Starting freshman year, I made a lot of friends, started classes and then started to feel the weight of them, like a lot so. As to be expected, RPI, like any recognized engineering school, has hard classes, which is a plus because it makes you have to learn the content and be independent towards your learning. I liked that, for sure; however, I quickly learned that, unlike many schools, RPI doesn’t curve almost any grade or test, meaning average student grades in classes would be around a C (typically even worse for upper-classmen). I even overheard the professor during general chemistry ( freshman level chemistry all engineering students have to take) talking about how the 68% test average as “OK”. Again I thought this was just part of being at an engineering school, that you have low test averages and high expectations. But looking at friends in other schools used to getting grade curves on their exams, I saw RPI as a bit of an outlier and did some research.